CPJ's 2017 International Press Freedom Awards

International Press Freedom Awards

CPJ's annual International Press Freedom Awards and benefit dinner will honor courageous journalists from around the world on November 15, 2017, in New York City.

The dinner will be hosted by Christiane Amanpour, chief international correspondent for CNN and CPJ senior advisor. The 2017 dinner chairman is David Rhodes, president of CBS News.

Press Release | Media Accreditation | Tables, Tickets, and Sponsorship

CPJ's 2017 IPFA honorees are:

Ahmed Abba, Cameroon

(Credit withheld)

Ahmed Abba, a correspondent for Radio France Internationale's Hausa service, has been jailed since 2015. He was convicted in 2017 on terrorism-related charges in connection with his reporting.

Journalism is not terrorism, so why is Ahmed Abba in jail @PR_Paul_Biya? Cameroon must free Abba #freethepress

Patricia Mayorga, Mexico

(Patricia Mayorga)

Patricia Mayorga, who covers human rights and other issues for the Mexican newsmagazine Proceso, was forced to flee Chihuahua state after receiving threats in relation to her reporting.

President @EPN pledged to CPJ that Mexico would investigate journalist murders. No time to delay #IPFA

Pravit Rojanaphruk, Thailand

(Pravit Rojanaphruk)

Pravit Rojanaphruk is one of Thailand's most prominent reporters and a longtime advocate for press freedom. He has maintained his critical tone and probing reporting style despite being under military threat.

Press freedom in Thailand has deteriorated under military rule. Journalists should be allowed to report freely #IPFA

Afrah Nasser, Yemen

(Elmeri Kauko)

Afrah Nasser is an award-winning exiled Yemeni blogger who reports from Sweden on human rights violations, women's issues, and press freedom in Yemen.

Journalists are killed, kidnapped and attacked while reporting in Yemen. They must be protected #IPFA

Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Award Winner

CPJ's Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Award is presented annually to an individual who has shown extraordinary and sustained achievement in the cause of press freedom.

Originally the Burton Benjamin Memorial Award, it was renamed in 2017 to honor the veteran journalist and former CPJ board member who died in late 2016.

(AFP/Getty Images/Jamie McCarthy) (AFP/Getty Images/Jamie McCarthy)

Judy Woodruff

Judy Woodruff is a broadcast journalist and the managing editor of "PBS NewsHour," a show she anchored since 2013 with her co-host, Gwen Ifill, the late journalist for whom this award is named.

Media Accreditation

CPJ International Press Freedom Award winners are available for interviews, upon request, prior to the awards dinner on November 15, 2017. Media accreditation for coverage of the awards dinner will begin on October 23.

Media contact:

Kerry Paterson, Advocacy and Communications Manager
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (212) 300-9031

Tables, Tickets, and Sponsorship

CPJ's 27th annual International Press Freedom Awards dinner will be held on Wednesday, November 15, 2017, at the Grand Hyatt New York (42nd Street and Lexington Avenue) in New York. The reception will begin at 6:30 p.m., and dinner will be served at 7:45 p.m. The event is black-tie.

To reserve a table, click here. For more information, call Buckley Hall Events at (914) 579-1000 or CPJ's Development Office at (212) 300-9021, or email [email protected]


Social Media

View All ›