CPJ International Press Freedom Awards 2010

International Press Freedom Awards

20th Annual Ceremony and Dinner
To benefit the Committee to Protect Journalists

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Grand Ballroom
The Waldorf-Astoria
New York City

We would like to thank all of our supporters and dinner chairman Sir Howard Stringer for a record-setting awards dinner that raised over $1.5 million, allowing CPJ to continue at the forefront of the fight for press freedom.

November 23 marked the anniversary of the massacre in Maguindanao province, Philippines, which took the lives of 32 journalists and media support workers. At the benefit, CPJ premiered the documentary video, “In pursuit of justice,” detailing our efforts to win convictions and aid victims’ families. 

Videos featuring our awardees:
Mohammad Davari, Iran
Nadira Isayeva, Russia
Dawit Kebede, Ethiopia
Laureano Márquez, Venezuela

Acceptance speeches by our awardees:
Dawit Kebede, Ethiopia

Biographies of our awardees:
Mohammad Davari, Iran
Nadira Isayeva, Russia
Dawit Kebede, Ethiopia
Laureano Márquez, Venezuela

Burton Benjamin Award:
Aryeh Neier, United States

2009 International Press Freedom Winner:

J.S. Tissainayagam, formerly imprisoned in Sri Lanka, accepted his 2009 award

Acceptance speech by J.S. Tissainayagam