J.S. Tissainayagam Award Acceptance Speech

International Press Freedom Awards

J.S. Tissainayagam

Acceptance Speech

CPJ 2010 International Press Freedom Awards Dinner

November 23, 2010

Waldorf Astoria, New York

Ladies and gentlemen, my apologies for being late - late by one year that is, to collect my award. Late or not however, it is great honor to be here in New York this evening among you. I wish to thank most sincerely CPJ and the many individuals and organizations who worked so tirelessly in securing my release and safe passage to the US.

Sri Lanka needs no introduction on the perils of journalism. CPJ and other watchdogs of media freedom testify to it through statistics of journalists who, in the course of performing their professional duties were killed, made to disappear, assaulted, arrested or detained. In this sorry tale of media repression, I would like to highlight one case that is to me emblematic of what befalls people who have the courage to defy the odds, speak the truth and ultimately pay the price. Sri Lankan web journalist and cartoonist Prageeth Ekneligoda disappeared on the evening January 24th this year. It is 300 days since his disappearance and the government of Sri Lanka is yet to commence credible investigations on his case.

Governments which systematically suppress freedom of expression understand that while journalists can be silenced by inflicting physical violence on them, there are far more powerful and subtler deterrents to achieve the same end. I am referring here to labeling. I remember only too well how the Sri Lanka government-controlled newspapers, television and most of all the government websites, mounted a campaign vilifying me when my case was before Court. They did not bother to meet the legal arguments put forward by my lawyers - they only publicly denounced me as a terrorist.

Unfortunately, demonizing journalists by calling them names is not exclusive to Sri Lanka. My friend and colleague Hollman Morris, prize-winning Columbian journalist was repeatedly reviled by President Alvaro Uribe's government as a 'terrorist' because he reported human rights abuses. In India, Booker Prize-winning author and human rights activist Arundhati Roy's remarks calling for justice in Kashmir was labeled 'seditious' by a section of the Indian government.

 Within the United States too, lawful dissent guaranteed under the First Amendment has been defined as 'terrorism' by designing law enforcement agencies, thereby subjecting antiwar protestors, environmentalists and religious groups to heightened surveillance and infiltration.

 By labeling journalists and other dissenters as enemies of the state, governments manipulate the public to retreat from evaluating news objectively. So that journalists are tried and convicted not by the courts of law, but by a public mesmerized by government propaganda. 

Ladies and Gentlemen, while we are all worried about bottom-lines and our shrinking budgets in the news business, I ask you to spare a thought for the shrinking space for dissent in our profession. Journalism and non violent dissent is not terrorism, and should not be labeled as such. I appeal to you to campaign that such labels are not used to silence us and our colleagues around the world.

Thank you.

More on the Awards

The ceremony Awardees Davari, Iran Isayeva, Russia
Kebede, Ethiopia Márquez, VenezuelaNeier, Benjamin Award


Ahmed Abba (Cameroon), Patricia Mayorga (Mexico), Afrah Nasser (Yemen), Pravit Rojanaphruk (Thailand)


Mahmoud Abou Zeid, Shawkan (Egypt), Malini Subramaniam (India), Can Dündar (Turkey), Óscar Martínez (El Salvador)


Cándido Figueredo Ruíz (Paraguay), Raqqa is Being Slaughtered Silently (Syria), Zone 9 Bloggers (Ethiopia), Zulkiflee Anwar Ulhaque, “Zunar” (Malaysia)


Aung Zaw (Burma), Siamak Ghaderi (Iran), Mikhail Zygar (Russia), Ferial Haffajee (South Africa)


Janet Hinostroza (Ecuador), Bassem Youssef (Egypt), Nedim Şener (Turkey), Nguyen Van Hai (Vietnam)


Mauri König (Brazil), Dhondup Wangchen (China), Azimjon Askarov (Kyrgyzstan), Mae Azango (Liberia)


Mansoor al-Jamri (Bahrain), Natalya Radina (Belarus), Javier Valdez Cárdenas (Mexico), Umar Cheema (Pakistan)


Mohammad Davari (Iran), Nadira Isayeva (Russia), Dawit Kebede (Ethiopia), Laureano Márquez (Venezuela)


Mustafa Haji Abdinur (Somalia), Naziha Réjiba (Tunisia), Eynulla Fatullayev (Azerbijan), J.S. Tissainayagam (Sri Lanka)


Bilal Hussein (Iraq), Danish Karokhel and Farida Nekzad (Afghanistan), Andrew Mwenda (Uganda), Hector Maseda Gutiérrez (Cuba)


Dmitry Muratov (Russia), Mazhar Abbas (Pakistan), Adela Navarro Bello (Mexico), Gao Qinrong (China)


Jesús Abad Colorado (Colombia), Jamal Amer (Yemen), Madi Ceesay (The Gambia), Atwar Bahjat (Iraq)


Galima Bukharbaeva (Uzbekistan), Beatrice Mtetwa (Zimbabwe), Lúcio Flávio Pinto (Brazil), Shi Tao (China)


Svetlana Kalinkina (Belarus), Aung Pwint and Thaung Tun (Burma), Alexis Sinduhije (Burundi), Paul Klebnikov (United States)


Abdul Samay Hamed (Afghanistan), Aboubakr Jamai (Morocco), Musa Muradov (Russia), Manuel Vázquez Portal (Cuba)


Ignacio Gómez (Colombia), Tipu Sultan (Bangladesh), Irina Petrushova (Kazakhstan), Fesshaye Yohannes (Eritrea)


Jiang Weiping (China), Geoff Nyarota (Zimbabwe), Horacio Verbitsky (Argentina), Mazen Dana (West Bank)


Zeljko Kopanja (Bosnia-Herzegovina), Modeste Mutinga (DRC), Steven Gan (Malaysia), Mashallah Shamsolvaezin (Iran)


Jesús Joel Díaz Hernández (Cuba), Baton Haxhiu (Kosovo), Jugnu Mohsin and Najam Sethi (Pakistan), María Cristina Caballero (Colombia)


Grémah Boucar (Niger), Gustavo Gorriti (Panama), Pavel Sheremet (Belarus), Ruth Simon (Eritrea)


Viktor Ivancic (Croatia), Freedom Neruda (Ivory Coast), Christine Anyanwu (Nigeria). Ying Chan (United States) and Shieh Chung-Liang (Taiwan)


Ocak Isik Yurtçu (Turkey), Daoud Kuttab (Palestinian Authority), J. Jesus Blancornelas (Mexico), Yusuf Jameel (India)

Social Media

View All ›