CPJ International Press Freedom Awards 2008

International Press Freedom Awards

18th Annual Awards Dinner

To benefit the Committee to Protect Journalists

Tuesday, November 25, 2008
Grand Ballroom, The Waldorf-Astoria, New York City

We would like to thank all of our supporters and dinner chair Jeff Zucker for an immensely successful event that raised $1.25 million for CPJ. Read more about the dinner here and view the overview video here.

Videos featuring our awardees:

Bilal Hussein »
Danish Karokhel and Farida Nekzad »
Andrew Mwenda »
Héctor Maseda Gutiérrez »

Biographies of  our awardees:

Bilal Hussein Associated Press photographer, Iraq
Danish Karokhel and Farida Nekzad,
Pajhwok Afghanistan News executives, Afghanistan

Andrew Mwenda, managing editor, The Independent, Uganda,
Hector Maseda Gutiérrez, imprisoned reporter, Cuba

Burton Benjamin Award: