CPJ International Press Freedom Awards 2011

International Press Freedom Awards

21st Annual Ceremony and Dinner
To benefit the Committee to Protect Journalists

Valdez, al-Jamri, Rather, Radina, Cheema, Fatullayev (Michael Nagle/Getty Images for CPJ)
Valdez, al-Jamri, Rather, Radina, Cheema, Fatullayev (Michael Nagle/Getty Images for CPJ)

Four intrepid reporters and editors from Bahrain, Belarus, Mexico, and Pakistan were honored Tuesday, November 22, at the Committee to Protect Journalists’ 21st Annual International Press Freedom Awards benefit dinner, an annual recognition of courageous journalism.

The event, held at New York’s Waldorf-Astoria hotel, raised nearly $1.4 million for CPJ’s work denouncing anti-press violations, providing assistance to targeted journalists, and advocating for press freedom worldwide. Award winners Mansoor al-Jamri (Al-Wasat, Bahrain), Natalya Radina (Charter 97, Belarus), Javier Valdez Cárdenas (Riodoce, Mexico), and Umar Cheema (The News, Pakistan) were honored in front of approximately 900 guests. CPJ also paid tribute to television newsman Dan Rather by awarding him the Burton Benjamin Memorial Award for his lifelong work to advance press freedom.

At the benefit, CPJ premiered its 2011 overview video detailing our efforts to defend press freedom around the world and online.

Read the full press release

2011 International Press Freedom Awardees. bios and videos:

Mansoor al-Jamri, Bahrain

Natalya Radina, Belarus

Javier Valdez Cárdenas, Mexico

Umar Cheema, Pakistan

Burton Benjamin Memorial Awardee

Dan Rather, United States

2009 International Press Freedom Awardee:

Eynulla Fatullayev, Azerbaijan

Fatullayev received his 2009 award after having been released from prison earlier this year.