CPJ To Honor Five Journalists

International Press Freedom Awards


New York
, September 24, 2007–The Committee to Protect Journalists will honor four courageous journalists from Russia, Pakistan, China, and Mexico with 2007 International Press Freedom Awards in November. Each has put their life or liberty on the line to report on stories of global significance.

Dmitry Muratov of Russia, Mazhar Abbas of Pakistan, Adela Navarro Bello of Mexico, and Gao Qinrong of China have reported on the news, despite death threats, harassment, and imprisonment.

Tom Brokaw, longtime anchor of NBC News, award-winning reporter, and best-selling author, will receive CPJ’s Burton Benjamin Memorial Award for lifetime achievement. Brokaw has been a member of CPJ’s board of directors since 1993.

“This is an exceptional group of courageous journalists from some of the most dangerous countries for reporters on earth,” CPJ Board Chairman Paul Steiger said in announcing the awards. “We honor their commitment to reporting the news in the face of tremendous risk.”

CPJ Executive Director Joel Simon said: “These journalists are being honored not only for the extraordinary stories they have reported but also because of their courageous fight for press freedom. Muratov, Abbas, and Navarro have fought for justice on behalf of their slain colleagues, while Gao has not been deterred by eight years of prison.

“Autocrats, drug traffickers, and corrupt officials have all been exposed by these enterprising journalists. They inspire us with their bravery. With these awards, CPJ hopes to spotlight countries with poor press freedom records and strengthen protections for journalists worldwide.”

The awards will be presented at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City on Tuesday, November 20. David Schlesinger, editor-in-chief of Reuters, will chair the black-tie dinner. NBC News Anchor and Managing Editor Brian Williams will host.