Natalya Radina Award Acceptance Speech

International Press Freedom Awards


Natalya Radina

Charter 97, Belarus 

Acceptance Speech

CPJ International Press Freedom Award 2011

November 22, 2011

Waldorf-Astoria, 301 Park Avenue, New York City

Ladies and gentlemen,

I am Belarusian. My country, Belarus, is in the heart of Europe. Regrettably, I am certain, many in the West know very little about Belarus. They know much more about Iran, Iraq, and Afghanistan.

The misfortune of my country is in the fact that it has no oil and is not of high strategic interest to much of the West. However, ten million people live there, who every day, every hour, and every minute suffer under a dictatorship.

For 17 years, Belarus has been ruled by the tyrant Aleksandr Lukashenko. He usurped power and obliterated all rights and freedoms; he is killing and throwing his people in jail.

Back in my homeland I was subjected to criminal prosecution and I was imprisoned because of my work as an independent journalist.

I was forced to flee my country so I could continue my work. But I don't want to talk about myself. I survived and I am in New York with you, receiving this prestigious award.

But many Belarusian journalists did not live to see today.

Among them is Aleh Byabenin, the founder of the website I edit, Charter 97. Aleh was found hanged in the run-up to the 2010 presidential elections.

Among them is journalist Veronika Cherkasova, who was found dead--with 25 stab wounds to her body--just after the parliamentary vote in 2004.

Among them is journalist Dmitry Zavadsky, who was abducted and murdered in the run-up to presidential elections in 2001.

Among them are the kidnapped and killed opposition leaders Viktor Gonchar, Gennady Karpenko, Anatoly Krasovsky, Yuri Zakharenko, Anatoly Moisenya...

Today, Belarusian jails are filled with political prisoners, who are subjected to torture and inhuman treatment.

I would like to name several of them. You may not remember them, but their names must be called out here, from this podium in New York. Perhaps there in the cells of the dire Belarusian prisons, it would help them breathe a bit more easily.

Andrei Sannikov, Dmitry Bondarenko, Dmitry Dashkevich, Eduard Lobov, Nikolai Avtukhovich, Ales Belyatsky.... 

I don't have the time to speak all of the names--all of Belarus today is a big prison. And this prison has continued to exist for 17 years, including because of foreign indifference.

Today we witness how dictatorships around the world are being toppled. We have the power to destroy the prison in the heart of Europe as well. Please, do not forget about Belarus. My country's 10 million people are counting on you.

Thank you.

More on the Awards

The ceremonyPress releaseAwardeesAl-Jamri, BahrainRadina, BelarusValdez, MexicoCheema, PakistanRather, Benjamin Award



Amal Khalifa Idris Habbani (Sudan), Nguyen Ngoc Nhu Quynh (Vietnam), Luz Mely Reyes (Venezuela), Anastasiya Stanko (Ukraine)


Ahmed Abba (Cameroon), Patricia Mayorga (Mexico), Afrah Nasser (Yemen), Pravit Rojanaphruk (Thailand)


Mahmoud Abou Zeid, Shawkan (Egypt), Malini Subramaniam (India), Can Dündar (Turkey), Óscar Martínez (El Salvador)


Cándido Figueredo Ruíz (Paraguay), Raqqa is Being Slaughtered Silently (Syria), Zone 9 Bloggers (Ethiopia), Zulkiflee Anwar Ulhaque, “Zunar” (Malaysia)


Aung Zaw (Burma), Siamak Ghaderi (Iran), Mikhail Zygar (Russia), Ferial Haffajee (South Africa)


Janet Hinostroza (Ecuador), Bassem Youssef (Egypt), Nedim Şener (Turkey), Nguyen Van Hai (Vietnam)


Mauri König (Brazil), Dhondup Wangchen (China), Azimjon Askarov (Kyrgyzstan), Mae Azango (Liberia)


Mansoor al-Jamri (Bahrain), Natalya Radina (Belarus), Javier Valdez Cárdenas (Mexico), Umar Cheema (Pakistan)


Mohammad Davari (Iran), Nadira Isayeva (Russia), Dawit Kebede (Ethiopia), Laureano Márquez (Venezuela)


Mustafa Haji Abdinur (Somalia), Naziha Réjiba (Tunisia), Eynulla Fatullayev (Azerbijan), J.S. Tissainayagam (Sri Lanka)


Bilal Hussein (Iraq), Danish Karokhel and Farida Nekzad (Afghanistan), Andrew Mwenda (Uganda), Hector Maseda Gutiérrez (Cuba)


Dmitry Muratov (Russia), Mazhar Abbas (Pakistan), Adela Navarro Bello (Mexico), Gao Qinrong (China)


Jesús Abad Colorado (Colombia), Jamal Amer (Yemen), Madi Ceesay (The Gambia), Atwar Bahjat (Iraq)


Galima Bukharbaeva (Uzbekistan), Beatrice Mtetwa (Zimbabwe), Lúcio Flávio Pinto (Brazil), Shi Tao (China)


Svetlana Kalinkina (Belarus), Aung Pwint and Thaung Tun (Burma), Alexis Sinduhije (Burundi), Paul Klebnikov (United States)


Abdul Samay Hamed (Afghanistan), Aboubakr Jamai (Morocco), Musa Muradov (Russia), Manuel Vázquez Portal (Cuba)


Ignacio Gómez (Colombia), Tipu Sultan (Bangladesh), Irina Petrushova (Kazakhstan), Fesshaye Yohannes (Eritrea)


Jiang Weiping (China), Geoff Nyarota (Zimbabwe), Horacio Verbitsky (Argentina), Mazen Dana (West Bank)


Zeljko Kopanja (Bosnia-Herzegovina), Modeste Mutinga (DRC), Steven Gan (Malaysia), Mashallah Shamsolvaezin (Iran)


Jesús Joel Díaz Hernández (Cuba), Baton Haxhiu (Kosovo), Jugnu Mohsin and Najam Sethi (Pakistan), María Cristina Caballero (Colombia)


Grémah Boucar (Niger), Gustavo Gorriti (Panama), Pavel Sheremet (Belarus), Ruth Simon (Eritrea)


Viktor Ivancic (Croatia), Freedom Neruda (Ivory Coast), Christine Anyanwu (Nigeria). Ying Chan (United States) and Shieh Chung-Liang (Taiwan)


Ocak Isik Yurtçu (Turkey), Daoud Kuttab (Palestinian Authority), J. Jesus Blancornelas (Mexico), Yusuf Jameel (India)

Social Media

View All ›