Awards 2001 - Announcement

International Press Freedom Awards

October 17, 2001 - The Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) will present its 2001 International Press Freedom Awards to four journalists from China, Zimbabwe, Argentina, and the West Bank who have defied death threats, braved bullets, and endured jail to report the news.

The 11th Annual Press Freedom Awards will be presented at a dinner ceremony at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City on Tuesday, November 20.

The 2001 CPJ International Press Freedom Award recipients are:

Jiang Weiping, a veteran journalist currently imprisoned in China on charges of "revealing state secrets" for his aggressive reports on official corruption;

Geoff Nyarota
the editor of Zimbabwe's only independent daily newspaper, which has been a relentless critic of President Robert Mugabe. Nyarota has been threatened and jailed, and his paper has been bombed twice;

Horacio Verbitsky
, who has blazed a trail for Argentina's press by exposing government corruption, reporting fearlessly on past atrocities, and battling for the repeal of the country's restrictive press laws;

Mazen Dana
, a cameraman for Reuters in the West Bank city of Hebron who has been beaten repeatedly and shot on several occasions while covering clashes between Palestinians and Jewish settlers.

CPJ will also honor Joseph Lelyveld, former executive editor of The New York Times, with the Burton Benjamin Memorial Award for a lifetime of distinguished professional achievement and devotion to the cause of press freedom.

Gene Roberts, chairman of CPJ's board of directors, said, "We pay tribute to these four brave journalists who have risked their lives to challenge tyranny, oppose censorship, and search for the truth."

Robert W. Pittman, co-chief operating officer of AOL Time Warner, will chair the dinner, which will be hosted by NBC News anchor Tom Brokaw. Joining Brokaw as speakers at the awards ceremony are: Dan Rather, CBS News anchor, Carol Guzy of The Washington Post, Alberto Ibargüen of The Miami Herald, Dean Baquet of The Los Angeles Times, and Andrea Koppel of CNN.

Ann Cooper, CPJ executive director, said of the awardees, "Each of these journalists, with pictures or words, has revealed stories that others wanted to hide. Each has been attacked for doing his job too well."

Read more about the awardees:

Jiang Weiping

Geoff Nyarota

Mazen Dana

Horacio Verbitsky

Joseph Lelyveld



Ahmed Abba (Cameroon), Patricia Mayorga (Mexico), Afrah Nasser (Yemen), Pravit Rojanaphruk (Thailand)


Mahmoud Abou Zeid, Shawkan (Egypt), Malini Subramaniam (India), Can Dündar (Turkey), Óscar Martínez (El Salvador)


Cándido Figueredo Ruíz (Paraguay), Raqqa is Being Slaughtered Silently (Syria), Zone 9 Bloggers (Ethiopia), Zulkiflee Anwar Ulhaque, “Zunar” (Malaysia)


Aung Zaw (Burma), Siamak Ghaderi (Iran), Mikhail Zygar (Russia), Ferial Haffajee (South Africa)


Janet Hinostroza (Ecuador), Bassem Youssef (Egypt), Nedim Şener (Turkey), Nguyen Van Hai (Vietnam)


Mauri König (Brazil), Dhondup Wangchen (China), Azimjon Askarov (Kyrgyzstan), Mae Azango (Liberia)


Mansoor al-Jamri (Bahrain), Natalya Radina (Belarus), Javier Valdez Cárdenas (Mexico), Umar Cheema (Pakistan)


Mohammad Davari (Iran), Nadira Isayeva (Russia), Dawit Kebede (Ethiopia), Laureano Márquez (Venezuela)


Mustafa Haji Abdinur (Somalia), Naziha Réjiba (Tunisia), Eynulla Fatullayev (Azerbijan), J.S. Tissainayagam (Sri Lanka)


Bilal Hussein (Iraq), Danish Karokhel and Farida Nekzad (Afghanistan), Andrew Mwenda (Uganda), Hector Maseda Gutiérrez (Cuba)


Dmitry Muratov (Russia), Mazhar Abbas (Pakistan), Adela Navarro Bello (Mexico), Gao Qinrong (China)


Jesús Abad Colorado (Colombia), Jamal Amer (Yemen), Madi Ceesay (The Gambia), Atwar Bahjat (Iraq)


Galima Bukharbaeva (Uzbekistan), Beatrice Mtetwa (Zimbabwe), Lúcio Flávio Pinto (Brazil), Shi Tao (China)


Svetlana Kalinkina (Belarus), Aung Pwint and Thaung Tun (Burma), Alexis Sinduhije (Burundi), Paul Klebnikov (United States)


Abdul Samay Hamed (Afghanistan), Aboubakr Jamai (Morocco), Musa Muradov (Russia), Manuel Vázquez Portal (Cuba)


Ignacio Gómez (Colombia), Tipu Sultan (Bangladesh), Irina Petrushova (Kazakhstan), Fesshaye Yohannes (Eritrea)


Jiang Weiping (China), Geoff Nyarota (Zimbabwe), Horacio Verbitsky (Argentina), Mazen Dana (West Bank)


Zeljko Kopanja (Bosnia-Herzegovina), Modeste Mutinga (DRC), Steven Gan (Malaysia), Mashallah Shamsolvaezin (Iran)


Jesús Joel Díaz Hernández (Cuba), Baton Haxhiu (Kosovo), Jugnu Mohsin and Najam Sethi (Pakistan), María Cristina Caballero (Colombia)


Grémah Boucar (Niger), Gustavo Gorriti (Panama), Pavel Sheremet (Belarus), Ruth Simon (Eritrea)


Viktor Ivancic (Croatia), Freedom Neruda (Ivory Coast), Christine Anyanwu (Nigeria). Ying Chan (United States) and Shieh Chung-Liang (Taiwan)


Ocak Isik Yurtçu (Turkey), Daoud Kuttab (Palestinian Authority), J. Jesus Blancornelas (Mexico), Yusuf Jameel (India)

Social Media

View All ›