Special Reports


Reports   |   Algeria, China, Cuba, Indonesia, Kenya, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, Tajikistan, Turkey

CPJ Names Ten Worst "Enemies of the Press" on World Press Freedom Day, May 3

NEW YORK --The leaders of China, Nigeria, and Turkey are among 10 world figures identified by the U.S. based Committee to Protect Journalists as "Enemies of the Press." All are responsible for brutal campaigns against journalists and press freedom, as documented by CPJ in its ongoing monitoring of press freedom violations worldwide. The Enemies of the Press list is released annually on May 3, World Press Freedom Day.
May 3, 1996 8:17 PM ET

Reports   |   Colombia, Croatia, Ghana, India, Mexico, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Tajikistan, Turkey

CPJ marks 15th anniversary

On April 3, 1981, three New York journalists filed incorporating papers for a new organization called The Committee to Protect Journalists, dedicated to the defense "of the human and professional rights of journalists around the world."
May 3, 1996 8:17 PM ET

Social Media

View all »