Peter Lattman joins CPJ board of directors

New York, November 1, 2021—The Committee to Protect Journalists announced today that Peter Lattman, managing director of media at Emerson Collective, has joined the organization’s board of directors.

“We are delighted to welcome Peter Lattman to CPJ’s board. He is smart, collegial and deeply committed to our mission – protecting journalists,” said Kathleen Carroll, chair of the board. “Peter also has a wide range of experiences in journalism, foundations and finance that will enrich the board’s work supporting the organization.”

As managing director of media at Emerson Collective, Lattman oversees investments in media and journalism. The collective is run by its founder, Laurene Powell Jobs, and has invested in organizations including The Atlantic, where Lattman serves as vice chairman and a member of its board of directors. He also serves on the boards of Anonymous Content and the American Journalism Project. Lattman’s extensive experience in journalism includes covering legal affairs and the private-equity industry as a reporter with The Wall Street Journal before joining The New York Times as a reporter for DealBook in 2010. He then served as the deputy business editor and media editor at the Times.  

“The work of CPJ has never been more important, with journalists under increasing attack around the world,” said Lattman. “I am honored to join the CPJ board and look forward to working with my fellow directors and CPJ’s leadership to advance the cause of press freedom.”

Lattman joins the board at a time when threats to press freedom have expanded across the globe, and as a member will help provide guidance and leadership to the organization. CPJ has provided support to journalists facing an onslaught of attacks this year, from those under threat in Afghanistan since the Taliban’s August takeover to ongoing press crackdowns in countries like Myanmar and Nicaragua.

In the coming weeks, CPJ will also be honoring courageous journalists at the 2021 International Press Freedom Awards, including presenting the 2021 Gwen Ifill Press Freedom to imprisoned Hong Kong media magnate, Jimmy Lai. The award is given annually by the board to individuals who have distinguished themselves as sustained champions for press freedom. Learn more about the awards and how to watch here.