CPJ’s 2021 International Press Freedom Awards to stream November 18

New York, November 9, 2021 – The Committee to Protect Journalists will join friends and supporters from around the world on November 18 to celebrate courageous journalists and the power of press freedom at the 31st annual International Press Freedom Awards.  

The virtual event, to be streamed on ipfa.cpj.org and abcnews.com, will be hosted by ABC “World News Tonight” anchor David Muir and honor intrepid journalists from Guatemala, Mozambique, and Myanmar, and feature powerful calls for world leaders to respect press freedom during an especially challenging year for journalists. The past year has been marked by an uptick in threats to press freedom, from a dramatic increase in attacks on the press in Belarus and Ethiopia, to the existential threat posed to journalism in Afghanistan by the Taliban takeover.  

The evening will also honor CPJ’s 2021 Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Awardee, imprisoned Hong Kong media entrepreneur Jimmy Lai, who has become a powerful symbol of the struggle to maintain press freedom in Hong Kong as China’s Communist Party exerts greater control. 

Learn more about this year’s awardees and how to watch the event here.

What: CPJ’s 31st International Press Freedom Awards

When: November 18, 2021, 8 p.m. EST

Where: ipfa.cpj.org  

Note to Editors:

CPJ experts and some awardees will be available for interviews prior to the event. To schedule an interview or to obtain an official media kit, please email [email protected].

Media contacts:

Bebe Santa-Wood

[email protected]