Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz

2 results arranged by date

Journalists assaulted, harassed amid political transition in Pakistan

On April 11, 2022, Pakistan’s parliament elected Shehbaz Sharif, leader of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and younger brother of former three-time Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, as the country’s new prime minister after ousting Imran Khan of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party in a no-confidence vote, according to news reports.  Since that political transition, journalists…

Read More ›

Supporters of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz march toward the airport to welcome former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, in Lahore, Pakistan, on July 13, 2018. Pakistani police arrested and beat a Norwegian TV reporter covering a Sharif rally in Gujrat on July 13. (Reuters/Mohsin Raza)

Pakistani police arrest, beat Norwegian TV reporter covering political rally

New York, July 17, 2018–The Committee to Protect Journalists today called on Pakistani authorities to allow journalists to carry out their work without fear of reprisal. Journalist Kadafi Zaman, a reporter for Norway’s TV 2, told CPJ he was arrested and beaten by police while covering a political rally on July 13 in Gujrat city,…

Read More ›