Balancing Act

StoryMap: Press freedom in EU candidate countries

Press freedom is a key factor for countries working toward EU membership. Currently five countries—Albania, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, and Turkey— and two potential candidates—Bosnia-Herzegovina and Kosovo— are applying to become member states. This StoryMap explores the challenges journalists in those countries have faced in the past five years.

The EU’s press freedom record is explored in Balancing Act: Press Freedom at Risk as EU Struggles to Match Action with Values, a special report by the Committee to Protect Journalists.