Reminder: Tomorrow is the last day to apply for press accreditation at CPJ’s 2019 awards

New York, November 14, 2019–Tomorrow is the last day to apply for press credentials for CPJ’s 2019 International Press Freedom Awards on November 21, 2019 in New York City.

The awardees this year include Folha reporter and columnist Patrícia Campos Mello from Brazil; Neha Dixit, a celebrated freelance journalist from India; Lucía Pineda Ubau and Miguel Mora, of embattled Nicaraguan broadcaster 100% Noticias; and Maxence Melo Mubyazi, a champion of online freedom of expression in Tanzania.

The Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Award, which recognizes an individual who has shown extraordinary and sustained achievement in the cause of press freedom, will be presented to Zaffar Abbas. He is the editor of Dawn, Pakistan’s leading daily newspaper, and has decades of experience as a reporter in Pakistan.

The awards dinner is open for press coverage. Accreditation requests will be accepted until noon on Friday, November 15. Press interested in taking photographs or conducting interviews during the awards should schedule in advance with [email protected]. The event will also be livestreamed on CPJ’s Facebook page.

WHAT: 29th Annual International Press Freedom Awards Dinner

WHEN: Thursday, November 21, 2019

6 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.: Photographs and interviews

7:45 p.m.: Award ceremony and dinner

WHERE: Grand Hyatt New York at 42nd Street and Lexington Avenue

WHO: This year’s dinner will be chaired by Laurene Powell Jobs and Peter Lattman of the Emerson Collective. The event will be hosted by veteran broadcast journalist Shep Smith.