CPJ to honor courageous journalists at the 2019 International Press Freedom Awards

New York, November 7, 2019–CPJ will honor six exceptional journalists for their bravery at the 2019 International Press Freedom Awards on November 21, 2019, in New York City.

This year’s awardees have experienced an array of threats in connection to their work, from targeted state-backed online harassment in Brazil, to legal threats and detention in Tanzania, to physical threats and drawn-out court battles in India. Two of the winners, Lucía Pineda Ubau and Miguel Mora, journalists at Nicaraguan news outlet 100% Noticias, were jailed in December 2018 in connection with their coverage of political unrest in the country. They were finally freed in June.

CPJ will present the 2019 Gwen Ifill Press Freedom Award to Zaffar Abbas. He is the editor of Dawn, Pakistan’s leading daily newspaper, and has decades of experience as a reporter in Pakistan.

The awards dinner is open for press coverage. Accreditation requests will be accepted until noon on Friday, November 15. Press interested in taking photographs or conducting interviews during the awards must schedule in advance with [email protected].

WHAT: 29th Annual International Press Freedom Awards Dinner

WHEN: Thursday, November 21, 2019

6 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.: Photographs and interviews

7:45 p.m.: Award ceremony and dinner

WHERE: Grand Hyatt New York at 42nd Street and Lexington Avenue

WHO: The dinner will be chaired by Laurene Powell Jobs and Peter Lattman of the Emerson Collective. The event will be hosted by veteran broadcast journalist Shep Smith.