Committee to Protect Journalists named winner of 2018 Chatham House prize

New York, October 8, 2018–London’s Royal Institute of International Affairs announced October 8 that the Committee to Protect Journalists has been named the winner of the 2018 Chatham House prize. The prestigious award is presented annually to the person, persons, or organization deemed by members of Chatham House to have made the most significant contribution to the improvement of international relations in the previous year.

CPJ has been recognized for its efforts to defend the right of journalists to report the news without fear of reprisal at a time when the free press is under pressure in many parts of the world.

“This honor is an affirmation of the role of journalists–particularly local journalists–in informing the world. Truth is not some malleable concept determined by political leaders; it’s a process informed by the kind of observation and understanding that only journalism provides,” said CPJ Executive Director Joel Simon.

According to Chatham House, the selection process is independent, democratic, and draws on the deep knowledge of the institute’s research teams, making the prize a distinctive and unique award in the field of international affairs.

A short list of nominees is selected by the institute’s three presidents from a longer list submitted by the research programs and departments in their areas of expertise. The recipient is then determined by Chatham House’s broad membership. The award is presented on behalf of the institute’s patron, Queen Elizabeth II, representing the non-partisan and authoritative character of the prize.


The nominees for the Chatham House Prize 2018 were:

The Committee to Protect Journalists

Mario Draghi, President, European Central Bank

Zeid Ra’ad Al Hussein, former U.N. High Commissioner for Human Rights

Halima Ismail Ibrahim, Chair, National Independent Electoral Commission, Federal Republic of Somalia

The Chatham House Prize was launched in 2005. Previous recipients include international humanitarian group Médecins Sans Frontières, former U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, and Melinda Gates, co-founder of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

The 2018 Chatham House Prize will be awarded in a ceremony on Wednesday, November 28, at Chatham House in London.


CPJ is an independent, nonprofit organization that works to safeguard press freedom worldwide.

Media contact:

Bebe Santa-Wood
Communications Associate
[email protected]