Darren Walker of the Ford Foundation joins CPJ’s board of directors

New York, February 26, 2018–Ford Foundation President Darren Walker has joined the Committee to Protect Journalists’ board of directors, the organization said today.

“We are delighted that a leader of Darren Walker’s caliber is joining the CPJ board at a time when threats against journalists and a free press have never been greater,” said CPJ Board Chair Kathleen Carroll.

At Ford, Walker oversees a $13 billion endowment and $600 million in annual grant making and charitable activities. Prior to joining Ford, he was vice president at the Rockefeller Foundation, where he directed global and domestic programs including the Rebuild New Orleans initiative after Hurricane Katrina in 2005. Walker is also a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and has received 13 honorary degrees and university awards, including the DuBois Medal from Harvard University.

“It’s a true honor and privilege to join the Committee to Protect Journalists’ board, particularly as the future of media and free press is under threat from all sides around the world,” said Darren Walker, president of the Ford Foundation. “It’s a challenging time for the journalists on the frontlines who so often give voice to those with little power, and I am inspired to serve on this board at a time when CPJ’s mission is more important than ever.”

“In a career of public service, Darren has helped transform lives across the United States and around the world,” said Jon Williams, chair of CPJ’s nominations committee.

For a full list of CPJ’s board of directors, click here.


CPJ is an independent, nonprofit organization that works to safeguard press freedom worldwide.

Media contacts:

Bebe Santa-Wood
Communications Associate
[email protected]
+1 (212) 300-9032