CPJ welcomes three new board members

CPJ is pleased to welcome three leading journalists to its board of directors: Kathleen Carroll of The Associated Press, Lara Logan of CBS News, and David A. Schlesinger of Reuters.

“CPJ welcomes these three fine journalists to our board,” CPJ Chairman Paul E. Steiger said. “They all bring extensive experience in foreign reporting from all parts of the globe as well as a proven commitment to freedom of the press. They will be an invaluable addition to our efforts on behalf of journalists worldwide.” 

Carroll is executive editor and senior vice president of The Associated Press, overseeing content from the AP‘s journalists worldwide. She guided the AP‘s transition into new media, and brought and new depth and sophistication to its coverage. Carroll has been a leader in the AP‘s effort to safeguard its journalists in war zones and other hostile areas, and has been a writer and editor in four AP bureaus. At Knight Ridder, Carroll directed Washington and international coverage for newspapers and multimedia. Prior to joining AP in Dallas in 1978, she was a reporter at The Dallas Morning News. She has served on the Pulitzer Prize Board since 2003.

Logan is CBS News’ chief foreign affairs correspondent, covering foreign affairs and international security issues from Washington. She earned a reputation as one of the world’s best foreign correspondents while reporting from the war in Iraq. Logan was one of the only journalists from an American network in Baghdad when the U.S. military invaded the city, reporting live from Firdos Square as the statue of Saddam fell. She has also reported extensively from Afghanistan, on the attempted assassination of Hamid Karzai, and from the frontlines with the Green Berets searching for Al-Qaeda and Osama Bin Laden. Logan reported from Pakistan on the assassination of Benazir Bhutto and its aftermath, conducting a penetrating interview for “60 Minutes” with Pakistani President Pervez Musharraf after Bhutto’s death.  She has been the recipient of multiple awards including an Emmy Award, an Overseas Press Club Award and an RTNDA/Edward R. Murrow Award for “Ramadi: On the Front Line,” a powerful 2006 report on American troops under fire in Ramadi, Iraq.

Schlesinger, editor-in-chief of Reuters News at Thomson Reuters, is a long-time global advocate for press freedom and the safety of journalists in the field, most recently in the Middle East and Africa, where several Reuters journalists have been endangered, imprisoned, or killed in the past few years. Schlesinger joined Reuters in 1987 as a correspondent in the Hong Kong bureau. From 1989 to 1995, he oversaw Reuters editorial operations in Taiwan, China, and the Greater China region. He then became financial editor and managing editor for the Americas, in New York, before serving as Reuters global managing editor. Schlesinger is also a director of the Thomson Reuters Foundation, chairman of the Dannenberg Oberlin-in-London Program, and an advisory board member of the International News Safety Institute.

CPJ is a New York-based independent, nonprofit organization founded in 1981 to promote press freedom worldwide. CPJ is active in more than 120 countries. CPJ’s board represents a broad spectrum of U.S. and international journalism. Board members accompany staff members on missions, support efforts to win the release of imprisoned journalists around the world, and oversee the activities of the organization.

The other board members are: Andrew Alexander, Franz Allina, Christiane Amanpour, Terry Anderson, Dean Baquet, Tom Brokaw, Rajiv Chandrasekaran, Sheila Coronel, Walter Cronkite, Josh Friedman, Anne Garrels, James C. Goodale, Cheryl Gould, Charlayne Hunter-Gault, Gwen Ifill, Steven L. Isenberg, Jane Kramer, David Laventhol, Anthony Lewis, David Marash, Kati Marton, Michael Massing, Geraldine Fabrikant Metz, Victor Navasky, Andres Oppenheimer, Burl Osborne, Charles L. Overby, Clarence Page, Norman Pearlstine, Erwin Potts, Dan Rather, Gene Roberts, Sandra Mims Rowe, Diane Sawyer, John Seigenthaler, Paul C. Tash, Mark Whitaker, Brian Williams, and Matthew Winkler.