New York, May 19, 2004—The Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) today announced the appointment of two new board members: Andrew Alexander, Washington, D.C., bureau chief for Cox Newspapers, and Norman Pearlstine, editor-in-chief of Time Inc.

“I am pleased to welcome Andy and Norman to CPJ’s board. They each bring extensive international experience, impressive management skills, and a deep commitment to the cause of press freedom. I look forward to working with them to advance CPJ’s vital mission,” said CPJ board Chairman David Laventhol.

Alexander began his career as a reporter for the Melbourne Herald in Australia and later joined the Dayton Journal Herald, where he worked as an investigative reporter and political writer.

He moved to the Journal Herald‘s Washington bureau in 1976, joined the national staff in 1984, and was named foreign editor in 1989. He has reported from more than 50 countries, covering conflicts in Vietnam, Angola, Iran, and Iraq.

Alexander has won or shared numerous awards, including the Raymond Clapper award for distinguished Washington correspondence, the Global Media Award, and the Thomas L. Stokes award for environmental reporting.

Pearlstine was named editor-in-chief of Time Inc. in 1995. As editor-in-chief, he oversees the editorial content of Time Inc.’s magazines, including TIME, Life, Fortune, Sports Illustrated, People, In Style, Money, and Entertainment Weekly. Pearlstine began his career with Dow Jones & Company in 1968 before being named the first managing editor of The Asian Wall Street Journal in Hong Kong in 1976. He then joined The Wall Street Journal Europe in Brussels as editor and publisher in 1982. Nine years later, he was appointed executive editor of The Wall Street Journal. He currently serves as the president of the Atsuko Chiba Foundation, which supports Asian journalists who study in the United States. In 1989, he received the National Press Foundation’s award as editor of the year.

CPJ is a New York–based independent, nonprofit organization founded in 1981 to promote press freedom worldwide by fighting for the right of journalists to report the news freely, without fear of reprisal. Today, CPJ is active in more than 130 countries.

CPJ’s board represents a broad spectrum of American journalism. Board members accompany the staff on missions, support efforts to win the release of imprisoned journalists around the world, and oversee the activities of the organization.

Other board members are: Franz Allina, Terry Anderson, Peter Arnett, Dean Baquet, Tom Brokaw, Walter Cronkite, Josh Friedman, Anne Garrels, James C. Goodale, Cheryl Gould, Charlayne Hunter-Gault, Alberto Ibargüen, Gwen Ifill, Steven L. Isenberg, Jane Kramer, David Laventhol, Anthony Lewis, David Marash, Kati Marton, Michael Massing, Geraldine Fabrikant Metz, Victor Navasky, Burl Osborne, Charles L. Overby, Clarence Page, Erwin Potts, Dan Rather, Gene Roberts, Sandra Mims Rowe, John Seigenthaler, Paul C. Tash, and Paul E. Steiger.