Corporations & Foundations

Altria Group, Inc.
Andrews McMeel Publishing
The Annenberg Foundation
Around Foundation
Belo Foundation
Copley Newspapers
Crowell & Moring
Dow Jones Foundation
Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation
The Ford Foundation
The Phil L. Graham Fund
John S. & James L. Knight Foundation
The McClatchy News Company
The McCormick Tribune Foundation
Media News Group, Inc.
Merrill Lynch & Company Inc.
The New York Times Foundation
Open Society Institute
Overbrook Foundation
The David and Lucille Packard Foundation
The Poynter Institute
Public Welfare Foundation
Pulitzer Foundation
The Ruben & Elisabeth Rausing Trust
RealNetwork Foundation
The Rendon Group
SONY USA Foundation
St. Petersburg Times
Times Mirror Foundation
The Tinker Foundation


Franz Allina
Terry Anderson
Peter Arnett
Eva and Tobias Bermant
Barry Bingham
Tom Brokaw
Lisa Church
Arthur Cooper
Walter Cronkite
Frank del Olmo
Geraldine Fabrikant Metz
David Evans

Josh Friedman
Anne Garrels
Charlayne Hunter Gault
Tom Gegax
Robert Giles
James Goodale
Cheryl Gould
Alberto Ibargüen
Walter Isaacson
Peter Jennings
Donald Kimelman
Bill Kovach
Jane Kramer
David Laventhol
Anthony Lewis
John R. MacArthur
Kati Marton
Michael Massing
Victor Navasky
Burl Osborne
James Ottaway
Clarence Page
Jane Perlez
Erwin Potts
Jonathan Randal
Dan Rather
Gene Roberts
Neal Shapiro
Jean Stein

Memorial Contributions

In memory of Vicky Burrows:

The staff of LIFE magazine
Christine Lieberman

In memory of Art Cooper:
Elizabeth Barrere and Dennis M. Cass
Peter Bloch and Nanette Varian
John and Patricia Brunelle
Joseph Calluori
Betsy L. Castenir
Kenneth Cole
Peggy Daitch
Lucy Schulte Danziger
Wendi and Arem Duplessis
Jennifer C. Egan
Alan M. and Ann A Fleishman
Giorgio Armani Corp.
Gourmet Magazine/Giulio Capua
Pamela Hanson
Arnold M. Huberman
Michael and Tina Ienna
Imperia Trading Inc.
Mervyn D. and Nancy S. Kaufman
James P. Kelly
Jim Kelly and Lisa Henricksson
Kaija Korpijaakko
Robert L. and Sandra G. Krakoff
Kate Larkworthy
Guy C. Lawson
Michael Luz
Amy McIntosh and Jeffrey Toobin
David Orlin
Rodale Publishing
Valerie Salembier
Mark Seliger
Mary F. Shanahan
Paul Scherer
Cyndi Stivers
Charles H. Townsend

In memory of Mark Fineman:
Lawrence H. Brown
Chris Buzard
John S.Carroll
Mark Chamberlin
Chicago Tribune Press Service, Inc
Lynn Fryer
Joan (Jody) Gambs
James Gerstenzang
Samuel Jameson
Katherine M. Johnston
Vicki Kemper
Lexington Habitat for Humanity
Los Angeles Times
Doyle McManus
Alan Miller
Jack and Barbara Nelson
Florence Nemkov
Lucy Overall
Julia Preston
Robert Rosenblatt
Kevin Sack
Joel R. Simons 
Anita K. Snow
Robert Tischenkel
Mary Jo Vortuba
Valerie Werlich
Nick Williams
In memory of Larry LeSueur:
Elizabeth Fisher
Wilbur Levin
Paul Sullivan
Alan and Dorothy Heil
Hilda & Mary Rosenbaum
Elizabeth Likert David
C. Fairley Spillman
Marie A. Haralson
In memory of (Tia) Pola Marchant:
Robert Marchant
In memory of Lars-Erik Nelson:
Mary Santarcangelo

In memory of Howard K. Smith:

Charles B. Holstein

Contributions to honor special occasions

In Honor of Carolyn Hulse's birthday:

Benjamin W. Hulse

In Honor of Krystyna and Howell Raines' wedding:

Allan M. Siegal & Gretchen M-P. Leefmans

And many other contributors of up to $500 whose generous donations help keep CPJ at the forefront of press freedom.

The Committee to Protect Journalists is extremely grateful to the following corporations, organizations, and individuals for their generous participation in the 12th Annual International Press Freedom Awards Dinner:


Advance Publications
Merrill Lynch & Co. Inc.
Reuters Group PLC


Allen & Company Incorporated
AOL Time Warner Inc.
Bloomberg News
Brokaw Family Foundation
Instinet Corporation
Los Angeles Times
Dan and Jean Rather
The Miami Herald/Knight Ridder


Terry Anderson
CBS News
Cisco Systems Inc.
Cleary, Gottlieb, Steen & Hamilton
Continental Airlines
Freedom Forum/Newseum
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP
Harper's Magazine
Johnson & Johnson
Weil, Gotshal & Manges


ABC Inc.
British Airways
Canary Wharf Group plc
Daily News
Forstmann Little & Co.
Goldman Sachs
GVA Williams
James C. and Toni K. Goodale
Hogan & Hartson L.L.P.
Kati Marton
Morgan Stanley
The New Yorker
Open Society Institute
Philip Morris
The Rudin Foundation Inc.
RVC Europe Ltd.
Simpson Thatcher & Bartlett
Sony Corporation of America
Sullivan & Cromwell
Time Inc.
TIME Magazine


Franz and Marcia Allina
American Express Company
Around Foundation
The Baltimore Sun
Bankrate Financial News
BP America Inc.
Business Week
CNBC Europe
Community Counseling Services
Crowell & Moring LLP
Debevoise & Plimpton
Dow Jones & Company Inc.
Forbes Inc.
Fox News Channel
Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson
Carol Ash and Josh Friedman
Steven L. Isenberg
The JKW Foundation
David Laventhol
Makinson Cowell
Markle Foundation
The McClatchy Co.
Geraldine Fabrikant Metz and Robert T. Metz
Middleberg Euro RSCG
The New York Times
The New York Times Company
The Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University
Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
Patterson, Belknap, Webb & Tyler LLP
Radianz Inc.
The Reebok Human Rights Foundation
Schulte Roth & Zabel
Tishman Real Estate Services
Tribune Company
Verizon Foundation
Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz
The Washington Post Company


Judith R. Aisen and Kenneth M. Vittor
Helen Alexander
H. Claire and Thomas R. Bettag
Honorable Oliver F. Clarke
Murray Cohen
Richard Edelman
David Evans
Anne Garrels
James Gleick and Cynthia Crossen
Cheryl Gould
Philip Graf
Alex S. Jones
Richard A. Leibner
Anne and Victor Navasky
Joyce Purnick and Max Frankel
Sir William Purves
Tim Russert
Diane Sawyer
Frank Scandale
Jerry Speyer
Matthew Storin
Paul C. Tash
Signe Wilkinson

We also extend our deepest gratitude to the many individuals and organizations who supported the Committee to Protect Journalists with gifts below $1,000 and cannot be recognized in this list because of space limitations.

Some of the vital resources that help make possible the work of CPJ are in-kind services and contributions. We thank the following for their support during the past year:

The Associated Press, CBC Newsworld, CBS, CNN, IDT, Radio-Télévision Belge de la Communauté Française, Dan Rather, Reuters, RFE/RL

The Committee to Protect Journalists is proud to continue its partnership in working with LEXIS-NEXIS, whose continued in-kind donation of technology services is crucial to our mission in the 21st century.

Continental Airlines is the preferred carrier for the Committee to Protect Journalists.