Award-Winning Journalists to Discuss Press
Freedom Issues in Indonesia, Panama,
Peru, and Niger

| News Alert Index | CPJ Home |

WHO: 1998 CPJ International Press Freedom Award Winners

WHAT: Press Conference

WHEN: 11:15 a.m. Monday, November 23, 1998

WHERE: Room 226, United Nations Secretariat Building, First Avenue at 45th Street

International journalists who have risked their lives to report the news will discuss their experiences and press freedom issues in their countries at a press conference at the United Nations at 11:15 a.m. Monday, November 23. The journalists are:

Grémah Boucar, founder of Radio Anfani in Niger, a leading private broadcast company with three radio stations, and publisher of Anfani newspaper and magazine, whose refusal to allow government intimidation and harassment drive the stations from the airwaves is emblematic of the experiences of Africa’s independent radio broadcasters.

Gustavo Gorriti, an investigative reporter with La Prensa in Panama, is an uncompromising advocate for press freedom who has survived abduction by armed commandos in his native Peru and continual legal harassment in Panama, where he has lived since 1996.

Goenawan Mohamad, the founder and editor of Tempo news magazine in Indonesia, forced to close in 1994 and newly reopened October 6, is a beacon of hope to Indonesian journalists in his unwavering determination to develop a genuinely independent press.

These three journalists and two others will receive the Committee to Protect Journalists’ 1998 International Press Freedom Awards at evening ceremonies on Tuesday, November 24, at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City. Pavel Sheremet of Belarus, bureau chief for ORT Russian television and editor of a Belarusian newspaper, who has endured arrest, imprisonment, and denial of the right to report and travel freely, is awaiting permission to travel to New York to receive the award. If a visa is granted he will be present at the November 23 press conference at the United Nations. Award winner Ruth Simon of Eritrea, correspondent for Agence France-Presse, has been imprisoned in Eritrea for nearly two years for doing her job as an independent journalist. CPJ is launching a campaign for her release.

Ann K. Cooper, CPJ’s executive director, will present the journalists and discuss why they were chosen to receive the eighth annual awards. The event is sponsored by the United States Mission to the United Nations.

NOTE TO PRESS: Reporters without U.N. accreditation can obtain a pass to cover the news conference by sending, at least two days in advance, a letter with information on media affiliation and date and name of the event to Ms. Sonia Lecca, Chief, Media Accreditation and Liaison Unit, United Nations; Fax 212/963-4642; Tel. 212/963-6934. Passes may be picked up the day of the event; press credentials and photo ID required.