2004 IPFA Svetlana Kalinkina

International Press Freedom Awards

Svetlana Kalinkina
As the editor of the popular Minsk business daily Belorusskaya Delovaya Gazeta (BDG), Svetlana Kalinkina challenged the neo-Soviet policies of Belarusian President Aleksandr Lukashenko by publishing information the government did not want the public to have. The criticism stung because BDG is known for accuracy, professionalism, and nonpartisanship.

Authorities retaliated against BDG with legal and bureaucratic harassment, filing lawsuits, seizing print runs, detaining journalists, and conducting politically motivated tax inspections. In early 2004, the post office and state-run press refused to distribute the paper. With the Information Ministry harassing any printer that worked with BDG, it was forced to print in neighboring Russia. By September 2004, BDG, while appearing online, had all but disappeared from newsstands.

Frustrated and realizing that independent journalism had a limited future with Lukashenko in power, Kalinkina took a leave of absence to work to defeat an October referendum to allow Lukashenko to seek unlimited terms of office. The day the referendum won, in voting widely regarded as fraudulent, thugs beat independent TV reporter (and former CPJ awardee) Pavel Sheremet in Minsk. Three days later, Kalinkina's former BDG colleague Veronika Cherkasova was stabbed to death in her apartment, a murder that has yet to be solved.

Despite the limitations of independent journalism in Belarus, Kalinkina will begin work later this year as editor of the daily Narodnaya Volya (The People's Will). "The main problem for Belarusian journalism is that it has become a hostage to the overall situation in Belarus, including the authorities and the weak opposition," Kalinkina says. "And because of the arrogance of existing power, the media are caught in the middle and are forced to take sides."


"Belarusian journalist to receive Zeit Foundation awards"

"Outcry at Newspaper Closure," Institute for War & Peace Reporting

"Independent Media Perseveres in Belarus," Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty  

"Heroes of Press Freedom," Washington Post, November 23, 2004


Remarks by Svetlana Kalinkina, International Press Freedom Award winner

Ladies and gentlemen, esteemed colleagues, I am greatly honored to be here with you today.

Receiving an award is always a privilege but this award is especially dear to me because it comes from a highly regarded organization such as the Committee to Protect Journalists, whose founders are esteemed American journalists.

I represent Belarus, a former Soviet republic, in which communist, totalitarian habits linger.

Historically, Belarus has been torn between Western Europe and the Russian Empire, between Western democracy and Eastern despotism.

Geographically, we are in the middle of Europe --nestled between Poland and Russia-- but President Lukashenko is often called the last European dictator, because even Russians enjoys more civil rights and democracy than we do.

At least, for now.

In the Soviet Union, those who told the truth and criticized the authorities were branded public enemies and spies, and were either thrown in jail or exiled.

In Belarus, authorities see journalists as the enemy.

Any criticism of the president may be considered a basis for criminal prosecution.

Several of my colleagues have experienced the cruelty of Belarusian prisons.

Foreign journalists are deported without explanation because of their professional activity.

In recent months, authorities deported several Russian and Ukrainian journalists, and just before my flight to New York, a French television crew was expelled and banned from Belarus for five years.

More and more, foreigners are denied entry in Belarus. Such was the case last summer with a group of U.S. senators, headed by John McCain.

Lukashenko wants to build a new iron curtain, but the creation of a communist reservation in the very center of Europe, in the 21st century, should not be allowed to happen.

And we can resist only with your help.

Thank you for your solidarity with the journalists of Belarus. Thank you for your help. I hope next time we will meet in a free and democratic Belarus.

Thank you!

To read more about Svetlana Kalinkina



Ahmed Abba (Cameroon), Patricia Mayorga (Mexico), Afrah Nasser (Yemen), Pravit Rojanaphruk (Thailand)


Mahmoud Abou Zeid, Shawkan (Egypt), Malini Subramaniam (India), Can Dündar (Turkey), Óscar Martínez (El Salvador)


Cándido Figueredo Ruíz (Paraguay), Raqqa is Being Slaughtered Silently (Syria), Zone 9 Bloggers (Ethiopia), Zulkiflee Anwar Ulhaque, “Zunar” (Malaysia)


Aung Zaw (Burma), Siamak Ghaderi (Iran), Mikhail Zygar (Russia), Ferial Haffajee (South Africa)


Janet Hinostroza (Ecuador), Bassem Youssef (Egypt), Nedim Şener (Turkey), Nguyen Van Hai (Vietnam)


Mauri König (Brazil), Dhondup Wangchen (China), Azimjon Askarov (Kyrgyzstan), Mae Azango (Liberia)


Mansoor al-Jamri (Bahrain), Natalya Radina (Belarus), Javier Valdez Cárdenas (Mexico), Umar Cheema (Pakistan)


Mohammad Davari (Iran), Nadira Isayeva (Russia), Dawit Kebede (Ethiopia), Laureano Márquez (Venezuela)


Mustafa Haji Abdinur (Somalia), Naziha Réjiba (Tunisia), Eynulla Fatullayev (Azerbijan), J.S. Tissainayagam (Sri Lanka)


Bilal Hussein (Iraq), Danish Karokhel and Farida Nekzad (Afghanistan), Andrew Mwenda (Uganda), Hector Maseda Gutiérrez (Cuba)


Dmitry Muratov (Russia), Mazhar Abbas (Pakistan), Adela Navarro Bello (Mexico), Gao Qinrong (China)


Jesús Abad Colorado (Colombia), Jamal Amer (Yemen), Madi Ceesay (The Gambia), Atwar Bahjat (Iraq)


Galima Bukharbaeva (Uzbekistan), Beatrice Mtetwa (Zimbabwe), Lúcio Flávio Pinto (Brazil), Shi Tao (China)


Svetlana Kalinkina (Belarus), Aung Pwint and Thaung Tun (Burma), Alexis Sinduhije (Burundi), Paul Klebnikov (United States)


Abdul Samay Hamed (Afghanistan), Aboubakr Jamai (Morocco), Musa Muradov (Russia), Manuel Vázquez Portal (Cuba)


Ignacio Gómez (Colombia), Tipu Sultan (Bangladesh), Irina Petrushova (Kazakhstan), Fesshaye Yohannes (Eritrea)


Jiang Weiping (China), Geoff Nyarota (Zimbabwe), Horacio Verbitsky (Argentina), Mazen Dana (West Bank)


Zeljko Kopanja (Bosnia-Herzegovina), Modeste Mutinga (DRC), Steven Gan (Malaysia), Mashallah Shamsolvaezin (Iran)


Jesús Joel Díaz Hernández (Cuba), Baton Haxhiu (Kosovo), Jugnu Mohsin and Najam Sethi (Pakistan), María Cristina Caballero (Colombia)


Grémah Boucar (Niger), Gustavo Gorriti (Panama), Pavel Sheremet (Belarus), Ruth Simon (Eritrea)


Viktor Ivancic (Croatia), Freedom Neruda (Ivory Coast), Christine Anyanwu (Nigeria). Ying Chan (United States) and Shieh Chung-Liang (Taiwan)


Ocak Isik Yurtçu (Turkey), Daoud Kuttab (Palestinian Authority), J. Jesus Blancornelas (Mexico), Yusuf Jameel (India)

Social Media

View All ›