International Press Freedom Awards

CPJ International Press Freedom Awards 2014


Aung Zaw, Burma

Founder, editor-in-chief, The Irrawaddy

Fact: At least eight journalists are behind bars in Burma.

President Thein Sein: Release all jailed journalists in #Burma and stop the harassment of the media #IPFA
(Siamak Ghaderi)

Siamak Ghaderi, Iran

Freelance journalist, former editor at IRNA

Fact: With around 35 journalists in jail each, Iran and China are the world’s leading jailers of journalists.

.@HassanRouhani & @JZarif must end crackdown on press in #Iran. Free the dozens of imprisoned journalists #IPFA

(Dozhd TV)

Mikhail Zygar, Russia

Editor-in-chief, Dozhd

Fact: At least 32 journalists have been murdered with impunity in Russia since 1992.

President Putin, allow Dozhd TV to work freely in #Russia! #IPFA @tvrain @KremlinRussia_E

(Gallo Images Destiny Nick Boulton)

Ferial Haffajee, South Africa

Editor-in-chief, City Press

Fact: The Protection of State Information Bill, dubbed the "secrecy bill," was passed by Parliament in November 2013 and awaits President Jacob Zuma’s signature into law.

The #SecrecyBill has no place in a democratic & free #SouthAfrica. Send it for Constitutional Court review #IPFA

Burton Benjamin Memorial Award

Jorge Ramos

Anchor, Univision News

(Gio Alma)

Four journalists from Burma, Iran, Russia, and South Africa will be honored with the Committee to Protect Journalists’ 2014 International Press Freedom Awards, an annual recognition of courageous reporting. These journalists have faced imprisonment, violence, and censorship.

The 2014 awardees are Burmese journalist Aung Zaw, founder and editor-in-chief of The Irrawaddy, which was branded an “enemy of the state” by the former military regime and still comes under pressure from the current Burmese government; Siamak Ghaderi, Iranian freelance journalist and former editor and reporter for the Islamic Republic's official news agency IRNA, who was released in July after spending four years in prison; Mikhail Zygar, editor-in-chief for the Russian independent TV channel Dozhd, which provides a rare alternative to Kremlin-controlled federal stations; and Ferial Haffajee, editor-in-chief of City Press in South Africa, who has faced fierce criticism and threats of violence against herself and her staff for critical stories published under her leadership.

CPJ will present Jorge Ramos, co-anchor on Univision News since 1986, with the Burton Benjamin Memorial Award for lifetime achievement in the cause of press freedom. He also hosts "Al Punto" (To the Point), the Univision Network's Sunday public affairs program. He recently started hosting a program in English on the TV network Fusion.

All of the winners will be honored at CPJ's annual award and benefit dinner in New York City on November 25, 2014. Christiane Amanpour, anchor and chief international correspondent for CNN and a CPJ board member, will host the event. Alberto Ibargüen, president of the Knight Foundation, is the dinner chairman.

Read full press release in Arabic, English, Farsi, Russian and Spanish.


International Press Freedom Awards
Tuesday, November 25, 2014

6:30 p.m. Reception, hosted by Reuters
7:45 p.m. Dinner
10 p.m. Post-dinner reception, hosted by Google

Black Tie

The Grand Ballroom
The Waldorf-Astoria
New York City


To purchase tickets to the dinner, please call Buckley Hall Events at +1 914-579-1000 or CPJ’s Development Office at +1 212-300-9021.

Media contact (for working press)
Samantha Libby, Communications Associate
Tel: +1 212-300-9032
Email: [email protected]

International Press Freedom Awards